Skip to Content Accessibility Information

Police Training & Standards Commission

The Police Training and Standards Commission is the body established by the Maryland Legislature to govern police certification and training in the State. The original Police Training Commission was established in April 1966. The Commission was abolished September 30, 2016 by the State legislature and the newly created Police Training and Standards Commission was established October 1, 2016. Its membership establishes minimum standards of training and selection for police officers in Maryland. Meetings are held on a quarterly basis or as needed. Contact for more information.

Special Note: The Police Training and Standards Commission meeting scheduled for Thursday, July 10, 2024, at 10:00 am has been changed to begin at 9:00 am. The meeting will be held at the Public Safety Education and Training Center located at 6852 4th Street, Sykesville, MD 21784.

Police Training and Standards Commission 2024 Meeting Dates:

Meeting Dates: January 11, April 24, July 10, October 2, 2024
Time: 10:00 a.m.
Place: Public Safety Education and Training Center
6852 4th Street
Sykesville, MD 21784
Add'l Info: A portion of the meeting may be held in closed session.
Contact the Police Training & Standards Commission Executive Director: Wayne R. Silver, 410-875-3605

PTSC Agenda July 10, 2024
PTSC Agenda April 24, 2024

For information on Police Accountability and reform, visit our Reform Page.

Superintendent, Department of State Police
Colonel Roland Butler, Chair

President, Maryland Chiefs of Police Association
Chief Carl Schinner, La Plata Police

President, MD Sheriffs' Association
Sheriff Joe Gamble, Talbot County Sheriff’s Office

Special Agent in Charge, Baltimore Federal Bureau of Investigation
William DelBagno

Police Commissioner, Baltimore Police Department
Richard Worley

President, State Fraternal Order of Police
Clyde Boatwright

Chairman, Maryland Municipal League, Police Executive Association
Chief Michael Spaulding, Sykesville Police

Attorney General
Anthony G. Brown, represented by: Zenita Hurly, Assistant Attorney General

President, Police Chiefs Association of Prince George's County
Chief Jarod Towers, Hyattsville Police

Maryland State's Attorneys Association
Richard Gibson

Wor-Wic PAC - Criminal Justice
John C. Moses

3 Regional Appointed Members
Chief Amal Awad, Anne Arundel Police Department
Dwarren Lambrith, Cheverly Police Department
Ronce Alford, Md. Transportation Authority

Individual with Expertise in Community Policing
Raymond Kelly

Individual with Expertise in Policing Standards
Dirk Butler

Individual with Expertise in Mental Health
Susan Radcliffe

3 Citizens of the State without Relationships to L/E
Patrick Campbell
Cory Jeweler
Ganesha Martin

  • The process for submitting the Serious Officer Involved Incidents & Officer Discipline report, as well as the Use of Force complaints report, is communicated to agency heads by the MPCTC Policy Director annually. The authorized representative is to complete the reports by January 31st of each year. As a reminder, these reports are based on the calendar year (January to December). Prior years’ reports can be found on our Mandatory Reports page. Should you have any additional questions about these reports, please email

Speed Monitoring Systems [SMS] Report

The below links are annual reports for Speed Monitoring Systems required by Maryland Transportation Article §21-809(k). The information in these reports was provided by participating jurisdictions. Any question regarding content should be directed to the particular jurisdiction. For SMS reports dating back beyond 5 years, contact