Skip to Content Accessibility Information

Correctional Training Commission

The Correctional Training Commission was established in 1971 by the Maryland Legislature. Its membership establishes minimum standards of training and selection for correctional officers in Maryland. Meetings are held on a quarterly basis or as needed. Contact for more information.

Special Note: The Correctional Training Commission meeting scheduled for Thursday, July 18, 2024, has been changed to Wednesday, July 31, 2024 at 10:00 am. The meeting will be held at the Public Safety Education and Training Center located at 6852 4th Street, Sykesville, MD 21784.

Commission Meetings:
Correctional Training Commission 2024
Meeting Dates: January 18, April 11, July 18 and October 10, 2024
Time: 10:00 a.m.
Place: Public Safety Education and Training Center
6852 4th Street
Sykesville, MD 21784
Add'l Info: A portion of the meeting may be held in closed session.
Contact the Correctional Training Commission Executive Director: Jennifer A. Beskid, EdD., 443-240-8696.

Minutes from in-person meetings and recordings from virtual meetings are provided below. The agenda is posted for upcoming meetings once available. For more information, contact CTC Executive Director

Secretary, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services
Carolyn J. Scruggs, Chair

Secretary, Department of Juvenile Services
Vincent Shiraldi

Representative of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services
Anthony Gaskins, Chief of Staff

Representative of the Department of Juvenile Services
Adina Levi, Acting Secretary of Residential Services

Deputy Secretary, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services
Annie Harvey, Deputy Secretary of Operations

President, MD Correctional Administrators Association (MCAA)
Ryan Ross, Director, Charles County Detention Center, Vice-Chair

President, MD Sheriffs’ Association
Sheriff Joseph J. Gamble, Talbot County Sheriff’s Office
Represented by Sheriff Ricky Cox, Calvert County Sheriff’s Office

President, MD Criminal Justice Association
Kevin Bianca

Attorney General
Anthony G. Brown
Represented by: Joseph Thomas, Principal Counsel

President, Coppin State University
Dr. Anthony L. Jenkins
Represented by: Dr. Beverly O’Bryant, Dean, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Correctional Officer of the State
Ayodele Okunoren

Regional Representatives

TBD, Representing the Capital Region

TBD, Representing the Central Region

TBD, Representing the Eastern Shore Region

TBD, Representing the Southern Region

TBD, Representing the Western Region