
VICTIM'S REPRESENTATIVE NOTIFICATION FORM 

Vehicle Laws - License Suspension Hearing 
INSTRUCTIONS 

As the Victim’s Representative, you are entitled to be present at the offender’s administrative hearing regarding a conviction as 

a result of this crash. You also have the right to provide either a written or oral impact statement for consideration by the 

administrative law judge. Please read the instructions below before completing this form. 

This form must be completed and received by the Maryland Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Administration, 

(MVA) at least 30 days prior to the offender’s hearing date. The form can be hand delivered or mailed to the Motor Vehicle 

Administration, Administrative Adjudication Division, Room 213, 6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E., Glen Burnie, MD 20162. Upon 

receipt of the completed form, the Motor Vehicle Administration will provide a notice, at least 21 days before the             

hearing that contains information about the upcoming driver’s license suspension hearing and how to request a copy of the 

hearing documents. A victim’s representative who intends to submit a written statement to MVA must do so at least 10 days 

before the hearing. A victim’s representative who intends to make an oral statement must notify MVA about the intent to do so 

at least 10 days before the hearing. 

Your hearing notice will be sent to the address listed below. It is important to notify the Motor Vehicle Administration 

at (410) 787-7928 if any of your contact information changes. If, at any time, you wish to stop being notified about your 

case, or no longer want to exercise your rights as a victim’s representative, you must put your request in writing and send it to 

the Motor Vehicle Administration at the above address. 

THIS FORM WILL BECOME PART OF THE PUBLIC RECORD IN THIS CASE. IF YOU DO NOT WANT YOUR 

ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER IN THE RECORD, CHECK THIS BOX TO REQUEST SHEILDING OF 

THIS INFORMATION. 

 

Date of Incident   Police Report No.    

Location, Street, County of Accident       

Investigating Officer     

Law Enforcement Agency Contact Information     

Date of Filing Notification    

 

 

 
Victim’s Information: 
Ms. /Miss/Mrs. /Mr. Date of Birth / /   

Address:         

City  State Zip      

State/Driver’s License Number___________________________________________________________________ 

PLEASE PROVIDE AN ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBERS TO RECEIVE ALL NOTICES. 

THIS FORM WILL BECOME PART OF THE PUBLIC RECORD. 

 

Victim Representative’s Name: 

Ms./Miss/Mrs./Mr.    Relationship     

Address:                                                         

City   State  Zip     

Telephone (Day)  (Evening)        

(Cell) Email:       
 

I REQUEST TO RECEIVE NOTIFICATION OF A LICENSE SUSPENSION HEARING AS A RESULT OF A 

MOVING VIOLATION THAT CONTRIBUTED TO A FATALITY. I UNDERSTAND THAT IF I DO NOT 

COMPLETE THIS FORM AND RETURN IT TO THE MOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATION THAT I MAY NOT 

BENEFIT FROM MY RIGHTS AS A VICTIM’S REPRESENTATIVE. 
 

Date    
Signature of Victim’s Representative 

 

          

        

 

  

  

 

  

   

 



The Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission (MPTSC) must distribute the form to each law enforcement agency 

in the State. An investigating agency must provide the victim’s representative with a copy of the notification form in 

conjunction with informing the representative of the right to file the form, as specified. If a victim’s representative has timely 

filed a notification form and the violator has requested a hearing, the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) must notify (1) the 

victim’s representative of any suspension hearing because of the moving violation and (2) the Office of Administrative 

Hearings (OAH) that a victim’s notification form has been filed. 

DEFINITIONS 

Victim: A person who dies as a result of the commission of a moving violation by another person. 

Victim’s Representative: A member of a family of a victim or the victim’s guardian or personal representative. 

Notification Requirement for Law Enforcement Officers: During the investigation of a moving violation, existing provisions 

require a law enforcement officer to inform a victim’s representative of the right to file a victim’s representation notification 

form with MVA for notification of an offender’s suspension hearing. The investigating agency must inform a victim’s 

representative of this right during the investigation of a moving violation and provide a copy of the notification form at that 

time. 

Filing a Notification Form: A victim’s representative must file a notification form at least 30 days before the driver’s 

suspension hearing on the moving violation. 

Notification Requirement for the Motor Vehicle Administration: MVA is required under State law to provide a notice to a 

victim’s representative that contains specified information about an upcoming driver’s license suspension hearing at least 21 

days before the hearing, including a notice that a copy of the license suspension hearing is available on request and of the cost 

to obtain a copy. The MVA is required to offer the copy of the hearing procedures to the victim’s representative at no cost. 

Additional Services Available in Maryland for Victims of Crime 

VINE NOTIFICATION: The State of Maryland provides all victims and victim representatives a second, automated system   

of notification for your privacy and convenience. VINE will provide you with court case and jail status information 24 hours/7 

days a week. You may also register with VINE to receive phone notification the day before upcoming court hearings or the 

release or escape of an offender. When calling VINE, if you have any difficulty, please press “0” for the operator. While 

VINE provides you with automated notification, do not rely solely on VINE for your notification of court hearing events 

or local jail/state prison information. Please be aware that you may always contact your State’s Attorney’s Office and speak 

with a victim service provider for all your court related questions or concerns. Call VINE at 1-866-MD4VINE (1-866-634- 

8463) and follow the prompts or register for notification on-line at www.vinelink.com. 

VICTIM RIGHTS COMPLIANCE INITIATIVE: As a victim of crime in Maryland, you have the legal right to: obtain 

information on the status of your case, attend all adult and certain juvenile criminal justice proceedings, request no contact with 

an offender, request restitution, request confidentiality, submit a written Victim Impact Statement and/or speak at 

sentencing/juvenile disposition, be informed of the release, transfer, escape, or death of an offender, attend, and speak at parole 

hearings. If you have unresolved questions about your rights or have a complaint regarding the criminal or juvenile justice 

system, you may contact the Victims’ Rights Compliance Initiative either by calling the Compliance Coordinator Monday 

through Friday at 410-697-9338. 

Offender’s Information: 

Ms. /Miss/Mrs. /Mr. Date of Birth / /   

Address:         

City  State Zip      

State/Driver’s License Number ___________________________________________________________________ 

  

 

   

 

http://www.vinelink.com/

