Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions

6852 4th STREET+ SYKESVILLE, MARYLAND 21784 - https://mpctc.dpscs.maryland.gov
(410) 875-3400 « Email: MPCTCprogramapprovals.dpscs@Maryland.gov

ENTRANCE LEVEL FIREARMS PROGRAM APPROVAL APPLICATION

RETURN APPROVAL TO: FOR MPCTC USE ONLY:
Agency Name: Agency Code: Approval Period:
Contact Name: Date/Approved by:
Telephone: Approval Number:
Email:
HANDGUN Total Program Hours: (35 hours min.)

Classroom: To include: legal aspects (rules for use of DF; alternatives of DF; emotional, mental and psychological prep needed for DF shooting
situation; judgmental / decision training; criminal, civil, and admin. liability). Nomenclature relevant to the firearm; Care and cleaning of the firearm;
Safe handling and storage of firearm (at home, in law enforcement facility, on the firing line, & on patrol); Fundamentals of marksmanship and
shooting; Explanations and reasons for qualification; Ballistic properties; Reduced light techniques; Mechanical operation of weapon; Malfunction
causes & clearing.

Training & Qualification (conducted over a minimum of 3 separate calendar days)

Number of Rounds: (1,000 Minimum) Ammunition: Authorized by agency or ballistic equivalent.

Target(s): (human torso or silhouette marked to indicate scoring values with maximum scoring area 725 square
inches).

Instructor(s): Attach a list to include name(s) and certification number(s).

Qualification — Day Fire Requires 3 consecutive Day courses of fire. Program # of approved day course:

Qualification — Night Fire Requires 1 Reduced Light course of fire. Program # of approved day course:

TYPE 3 or 4 LONG GUN (if applicable)

TYPE 3  Hours (14 hours Minimum) of classroom, training and qualification. Total hours:
Rounds (350 Minimum) of ammunition for training and qualification. Total rounds:
Requires 1 Day course of fire. Program # of approved day course:

Program # of approved day course Type 3 with Auto:

TYPE 4  Hours (7 hours Minimum) of classroom, training and qualification. Total hours:
Rounds (50 Minimum) of ammunition for training and qualification. Total rounds:
Requires 1 Day course of fire. Program # of approved day course:

Permission to deviate from the required MPCTC Firearm Program should be requested in writing (with explanation), and submitted
with said program. MPCTC Regulations require that all Firearms Instructors be certified by MPCTC and that their certification be
current. It is not necessary to send any other documentation with this application, however, said documentation should be kept on file
within said agency. | certify that all information provided on this application is true and correct.

Agency Representative Name Signature Title Date
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